Bat mon II ah rem incorrect

For the Energy Monitor, ESP, and other monitors

Bat mon II ah rem incorrect

Postby jgm1 on Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:47 pm

My BM II amp hours remaining is slowly dropping (from 1270 to 241) even though the battery bank is at full charge. I replaced my charger/inverter which has a readout panel that shows full charge and the BM II also indicates that the bank is at 13 volts. I suspect that the current sensor did not get wired properly so it can't sense the charge current from the new charger. Note that it does sense charging current when the engine is running and the alternator is charging. I've looked at the wiring and it looks correct to me based on how I interpret the schematic. But I'm not an expert on the matter. Can anyone advise on what to look for? Thank you
John
jgm1

Re: Bat mon II ah rem incorrect

Postby Coulomb on Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:31 pm

You probably wired the inverter to battery negative instead of the negative distribution.
Coulomb
Site Admin

Postby jgm1 on Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:59 pm

Thank you for your reply. Today I checked and found that the charger/inverter negative cable goes to the distribution post. As expected, many wires are tied to that negative post but there is one which goes to a shunt and the other side of the shunt goes to the negative side of the house battery bank. I assume that is to maintain the battery at the proper voltage level. According to my amp clamp meter, very little current (about .5 amp) is going into the battery bank as I would expect since that bank is at float level. The charger is putting about 1.75 amps into the cable going to the distribution post but I believe that most of that output is simply keeping up with normal consumption due to fans, etc. that are always running to circulate air in the boat.