Page 1 of 1

Current limiting on V2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:50 pm
by davimack
I currently have a Smart regulator V2. I also have a Balmar 60 , a 100 Amp alternator on a Yanmar 3QM 30 F
engine. When the batteries are at around 70%, the belt, a single belt, keeps slipping. There is no way to make a
double pulley. I was advised to reduce the current charge by adjusting the potentiometer on my V2 and to put
a switch in the circuit, as described in your manual. I did so, but now the maximum current that the regulator will
allow is about 30 amp, whether the swich is operating or not.
I have called your office and was told you do not repair your own equipment.
1.) Is there any advice you can give me on my V2.
2.) I am advised by one dealer in Vancouver BC that the NS 2, can be used to adjust the current charge,
and by another dealer, that it cannot.
Needless to say I am disappointed you no longer repair your own products, which naturally concerns me, for any
issues I have in the future, so I am now looking further afield for another regulator, though I would rather not do so.
I would appreciate any advice or help you can give me.
Davimack

Re: Current limiting on V2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:15 am
by Coulomb
The SAR V2 was last made about 1992 when it was replaced with the V3. Have you tried recently to get a 1992 computer repaired? Technology marches on and parts become obsolete. We do repair our own products if parts are available to do so.

More than likely, the regulator is working fine, but the batteries won't accept the current. Below are the URLs for a couple articles in the Primer that may help you understand what's going on.
http://www.amplepower.com/primer/full/index.html
http://www.amplepower.com/primer/manage/index.html

And you should read the first question here:
http://www.amplepower.com/faq/index.html

Now to clear up some other issues:

1) There are a great many 124 Amp Ample power alternators installed on Yanmars and driven with a single belt. The secret is the correct size sheave, accurate alignment and the proper belt.

2) The NS2 can do current limiting but it requires the serial port option and a PC to set the limit. You might want to read the data sheet here:
http://www.amplepower.com/products/ns2/index.html and the manual here: http://www.amplepower.com/manuals/ns2/index.html